Unlawful handicapped parking could lead to large fines

March 19, 2018

Kerrville follows the Texas Transportation laws regarding unlawful parking in a handicapped space.

To park in a handicapped spot, citizens must have a valid handicapped place card or license plate. A marked handicapped vehicle may park in the designated handicapped space for an unlimited amount of time. If a handicapped place card or license plate is expired or not present in a handicapped parking space, the vehicle is considered to be unlawfully parked.

A Peace Officer appointed by the city or the security officer designated to patrolling the parking lot can issue a parking violation to those unlawfully parked in a handicapped space.

The first violation is punishable by a fine no less than $500 and no more than $800, as well as 10 hours of community service. For a second violation, a fine of $550-$800 and 20 hours of community service can be issued. Third time offenders can receive a fine of $800-$1,100 and 30 hours of community service. The forth time a vehicle is illegally parked they can receive a fine no less than $1,250 and 50 hours of community service.

To report a vehicle unlawfully parked in a handicapped zone, seek out a nearby security guard or call your local police department.

Get Texas Breaking News Updates

Join the conversation

All content © 2019 GHM or their respective parties. All rights reserved.


To Top